4 Things Any Person Facing a DUI Charge Should Know
A driving under the influence (DUI) charge can be the kind of thing that can set your life off track. This is the case because some of the repercussions of DUI convictions include having your license revoked, spending some time in jail and having to participate in drug and alcohol treatment programs. If you feel that you were wrongly charged or would like to have leniency before the judge or jury, there are some important things that you must keep in mind. Follow this guide, so that you are able to bounce back from this situation.
#1: Get the Best Lawyer You Can Find
The first mistake that people make is that they either don't hire a lawyer, or leave their case to a sub-par attorney or a public defender. Since the DUI case can be detrimental, you'll want to get recommendations and referrals on the top-rated criminal lawyers in your local and surrounding area. By doing this, you will have the best chance of getting a plea bargain or an acquittal in your case. In your search for the right lawyer, get a handful of consultations from law firms like Dimeo Law Offices, so that you can find the best fit.
#2: Understand That You Are Innocent Until Proven Guilty
The second mistake that people make is assuming that a failed breathalyzer test means that they are automatically guilty. People who believe this go on to either plead guilty in court or admit guilt to the arresting police officer. There are a variety of reasons that a breathalyzer test can be wrong, including:
- Acid reflux
- Machine malfunction
- Ambient temperature
- Presence of vomit in the mouth
- Low calorie diet
#3: Work to Get Your License Back
In a lot of situations, you will automatically have your license suspended, pending the outcome of the case. However, you have a right to go to work and school, so you should request a restricted license, so that you are able to take care of your daily business. By doing this, you'll be able to take care of your livelihood, as you work to bounce back from the situation.
#4: Always Understand the Repercussions Going In
Each state has its own DUI laws. For example, in Tennessee, you could spend at least 2 days in jail and a maximum of 11 months in jail if you are convicted of your first DUI offense. This also comes with a maximum $1,500 fine. In the state of Vermont, there are no minimum jail times, but you can spend a maximum of 2 years in jail on your first offense, along with fines of $750. Understanding the repercussions of these cases will let you build the best case possible with your attorney, while also knowing what you're up against.
When you consider these four tips, you will put yourself in a position to succeed when you're fighting a DUI. Touch base with a criminal defense attorney in your city who can help you out.